Home | Weather | Search | Maps | Images of Burgundy | About Burgundy | About Franche-Comt | Press | Contact Us

History of Dijon Prenois Circuit

Until 1984 the circuit at Dijon-Prenois was the home of the French Formula 1 Grand Prix. Since then the track has specialised in racing historic cars and bikes, continuing the tradition of the glorious days of racing.

Dijon has played an important role in the history of the motorbike. During the first half of the 1900s the Terrot factory made bikes of all description. Between 1925 and 1930 they won the majority of the motorbike championships, making them the number one constructor in France in front of Peugeot.


Inauguration of the Dijon Prenois Circuit



First Formula 1 Grand Prix in France



Clay Regazzoni won the Swiss Grand Prix



Mario Andretti won the French Grand Prix



Rene Arnoux came first, with Gilles Villeneuve second
in French Grand Prix .
Renault won the Constructor’s Championship for the first time.



First win for Alain Prost in F1



Keke Rosberg won Swiss Grand Prix



Niki Lauda won the last F1 Grand Prix at the Circuit


1989 - 1990

F3000 and World Championship of Sport Prototypes


1991 - 1997

European Cup of Lorries and GT races


1998 - 2001

World Championship GT, European Lorry Cup, Grand Prix of Historic Cars



Dany Snobeck takes over the running of Dijon Prenois



Coupes Moto Legende comes to Dijon Prenois from Monthery



Le Grand Prix de l’Age d’Or, meeting of historic cars



GT FIA Championship